Geographic Medicine and Infectious Diseases


The following awards are given annually to faculty and fellows.

The Susan Hadley Clinician Educator Award

Susan Hadley, MD, Transplant Infectious Disease Specialist at Tufts Medical Center.Susan Hadley, MD, FIDSA, was a faculty member in the Division of Geographic Medicine and Infectious Diseases and Professor of Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine. She lost her battle with pancreatic cancer in 2016.  In honor of her outstanding teaching of students, residents, and fellows, the division’s Clinician Educator Award was named after Dr. Hadley. This annual award is bestowed upon a faculty member chosen by the current fellows.

Dr. Hadley was a graduate of the University of Florida-Gainesville College of Medicine, and was an intern, resident, and infectious diseases fellow at New England Deaconess Hospital (now Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center). She first joined the Tufts University faculty in 1999. Dr. Hadley’s research interests included fungal infections in the immunocompromised host, and she participated in the NIH-funded Mycoses Study Group.  

In addition to mentoring numerous infectious diseases fellows, Dr. Hadley co-directed the Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases section in the Tufts University School of Medicine curriculum, and was course director for the Nicaragua International Health Elective. Dr. Hadley herself won numerous awards for clinical teaching in her career.

The Julie Anne Guilbert Maher Award for Excellence in Outpatient Care

The Julie Anne Guilbert Maher Award is given annually to the fellow who demonstrates excellence in clinical outpatient care. Dr. Maher was an infectious diseases fellow at Tufts Medical Center, and distinguished herself for outstanding clinical care. The recipient of this award named in her memory is selected by the faculty.

The Maxwell Finland Award for Excellence in Research

This award is given annually at the spring meeting of the Massachusetts Infectious Diseases Society to the fellow who has demonstrated excellence in research.

The Kass Award for Excellence in Clinical Care

This award is presented annually at the winter meeting of the Massachusetts Infectious Diseases Society to the fellow who demonstrates excellence in clinical care. The recipient selected by the faculty demonstrates caring, compassion, and outstanding clinical skills.

Trainee Awards

ID Week 2019, Washington, DC:

Tulip Jhaveri, MD
Fellow’s Day Case presentation-Where the Answer Lies in the Name

Natalie V. Zucker Research Center for Women Scholars Travel Award 2019

Jehan F. Chowdhury, DO
Assessment of Tufts Medical Center's Hepatitis C Virus Care Cascade
The International Liver Congress 2020, London

ID Week 2018, San Diego, CA:

Anthony Karabanow, MD
Preference for Intravenous Versus Oral Antibiotics at Hospital Discharge

Whitney Perry, MD
BK Virus Reactivation in Solitary Heart Transplant Recipients: Prevalence and Relationship to Kidney Dysfunction