Share on facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google Plus Share This


Dr. John T. Harrington Endowed Fund

The Dr. John T. Harrington Endowed Fund was created in 2006. It was established by charitable gifts to Tufts Medical Center in honor of Dr. Harrington’s 70th birthday. Through his outstanding career, Dr. Harrington, Dean Emeritus at TUSM, has played a vital role in Tufts Medical Center’s Division of Nephrology. Widely known as a gifted nephrologist who has brought long-term hope to seriously-ill patients, his contributions to the field of Nephrology are many. In the early 1970s, Dr. Harrington developed the hemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis and kidney transplant programs. Another of his most notable contributions to medical education and nephrology was his leadership of the “Nephrology Forum” in Kidney International, the official journal of the International Society of Nephrology. The Forum served as an invaluable resource of information and perspective for nephrologists around the globe for over 25 years.

The Dr. John T. Harrington Endowed Fund supports a mission that Dr. Harrington holds near and dear – the continuous medical education of physicians, both young and more senior, on the delivery of the highest-quality care possible to patients suffering from kidney disease. Each year, the Harrington Fund supports a Visiting Professor in the Division of Nephrology to participate in the evaluation of the Division’s research training program and to speak at Grand Rounds in the Department of Medicine. In addition, the Harrington Fund can support other educational programs and initiatives within the Division, include innovative research projects that require seed funding and special patient care projects.

We are very grateful for the following Founding Gifts for the Dr. John T. Harrington Endowed Fund:

Individual Donors
Mr. Thomas F. and Mrs. Mary J. Shields
Mr. and Mrs. John P. Brogan
Drs. Nicolaos and Ourania Madias
Dr. and Mrs. Howard B. Garfinkel
Dr. and Mrs. James A. Strom

Corporate/Institutional Donors
Dialysis Clinic, Inc.
Tufts University School of Medicine
Merck & Co., Inc

1st Annual John T. Harrington Grand Rounds—2007
Nicolaos E. Madias, MD, Visiting Professor
St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center
Shared Primacy of Sodium and Potassium in the Pathogenesis of Hypertension

2nd Annual John T. Harrington Grand Rounds—2008
Sharon Moe, MD, Visiting Professor
University of Indiana
Chronic Kidney Disease: Looking for Bone in All the Wrong Places

3rd Annual John T. Harrington Grand Rounds—2009
Eberhard Ritz, MD, Visiting Professor
Department of Internal Medicine Ruperto Carola University of Heidelberg, Germany
The World Kidney Day: The Kidney and Hypertension

4th Annual John T. Harrington Grand Rounds—2010
Bertram Kasiske, MD, Visiting Professor
Professor of Medicine. Head of Transplant Nephrology at the University of Minnesota, Director of the Renal Division at Hennepin County Medical Center
Guidelines for the Management of Kidney Transplant Patients

5th Annual John T. Harrington Grand Rounds—2011
Jonathan Himmelfarb, MD, Visiting Professor
Professor of Medicine, Joseph W. Eschbach Endowed Chair for Kidney Research from the University of Washington Division of Nephrology, Seattle WA
Kidney Disease as a Public Health Problem: Problems, Progress, and Prospects

6th Annual John T. Harrington Grand Rounds—2012
Adeera Levin, MD Visiting Professor
Staff nephrologist at St. Paul’s Hospital
Professor at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, British Columbia.  Global Burden of CKD: Challenges and Opportunities.

7th Annual John T. Harrington Grand Rounds—2013
Josef Coresh, MD, PhD Visiting Professor
G.W. Comstock Professor of Epidemiology, Biostatistics & Medicine
Director, George W. Comstock Center for Public Health Research and Prevention and the Cardiovascular Epidemiology Training Program
Johns Hopkins University Baltimore MD
Chronic Kidney Disease — A Challenge for All Ages

In 2012, we were very appreciative to receive the following new gifts:

Mr. and Mrs. Garnett D. Bailey
Mr. William Belben
Mrs. Marie Gee
Dr. and Mrs. Sol Gittleman
Dr. Susan H. Hou
Ms. Marie Marchesseault
Ms. Tara Mooar
Mr. and Mrs. John L. Newton
Mr. Norrick Peart
Mr. Donald Roaf
Mr. and Mrs. Manuel Sampedro
Mr. and Mrs. Oden K. Semones
Dr. and Mrs. James A. Strom
Mr. and Mrs. Francis M. Tracy
Ms. Pamela J. Yee and Mr. Yosh Ito